Wanderlust…

The International Reporting (and Life) Adventures of Vivian Salama

Back to Dubai…

Posted by vmsalama on September 19, 2008

I’m back from a fantastic week of reporting in Bombay (Mumbai) – which I believe I can say, without hesitation, is the most insane (but wonderful) city I’ve ever visited.  While I had very little time for anything other than work, I did get to catch the tail end of the Ganesha Chaturthi – or Ganesh Festival – which honors the Hindu deity Ganesh, known as the Remover of Obstacles.  

Gsb.jpg

Hindus celebrate this 10 day festival to bestow his presence on earth for all his devotee.  On the final day of the Ganesh festival thousands of plaster idols are immersed into water bodies by devotees.  I was lucky enough to catch this ceremony on my first night in Bombay.  Interestingly enough, I wondered how hundreds of thousands of statues could be immersed in the sea without having either an environmental impact or simply just sitting there for all of eternity!  My friend, a local, told me of a campaign in recent years to make the idols out of plaster that dissolves without having too negative an impacting the sea creatures.  I will post photos soon!

Leave a Reply

 
