Wanderlust…

The International Reporting (and Life) Adventures of Vivian Salama

The Adventure Begins…

Posted by vmsalama on February 20, 2008

Hey folks – for those who follow my blog, you may be wondering why I haven’t written in a while.  I just moved to the UAE to report for a new start-up newspaper based here which is positioned to be an international competitor to some of the major newspapers of the world.  The staff is extraordinary and I am really excited to join the project.
 
As always, I will post my articles here on the site, but I will also do my best to share some of the anecdotes from my travels.  I have been taking photos as well, but until I settle in, Internet access is not always available.  Thank goodness for Starbucks!  In the meantime, here’s a quick story from day 1: 
 
Went to lunch with 5 colleagues – we opted to eat Afghani food.  The seating area was downstairs and there were plenty of seats, but they took us to an upstairs room and closed the curtains on us completely.  One of my colleagues asked to open the curtains… which is when the waiter subtly pointed to me and my other female colleague and simple said “no.”
Too bad, really.  Some of the men in this restaurant were just stunning – I would have liked nothing more than to photograph them.  Alas, I ain’t in Kansas no more.  
Leave a Reply

 
